Active Travel Act – Integrated Network Map

The Active Travel (Wales) Act places duties upon local councils in Wales to map, plan for, improve and promote opportunities for active travel.

Active travel means walking and cycling for every day journeys. This includes journeys to school, work, shops or to access services, for example health centres or leisure centres. Active travel does not include walking and cycling for recreational purposes.

Wrexham County Borough Council is calling on residents to get in touch if they have suggestions for improving active travel routes within the County Borough.  This may be a route that you currently use for walking and cycling that could be improved to encourage greater levels of active travel or alternatively, a route which is currently missing, that, if provided would help to encourage more people to participate in active travel for every day journeys.

Specific interest is being given to the following areas which the Welsh Government has deemed as designated Active Travel Areas. These are:

  • Rossett
  • Llay
  • Sydallt
  • Gresford
  • Bradley
  • Tan-Y-Fron
  • Coedpoeth
  • Wrexham Town North
  • Wrexham Town South
  • Rhostyllen
  • Rhosllanerchrugog
  • Ruabon
  • Trevor
  • Chirk